You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-11 02:30:17

colin
Bright Light

DIY ivy

Recent talk of people producing their own shirts (Leith, Fitzgerald's) as well as jackets (Hardy and Johnston) got me thinking...

...I wonder how difficult it is to mend worn-down clothes that are too good to throw away but beyond wearable? Much less daunting then producing items, but surely most of us don't need any new clothes at this stage?

Well, as a total amateur, I had a go at turning the collar on a brooks makers shirt that had entirely frayed away.

And turns out, the result was better than I expected!

Next step is to try working on a mercer gingham shirt, which will involve making sure the pattern lines up.

But for anyone considering doing it - well worth a try.

What other DIY alterations/changes have you made?

I found the 'weejun hack' to also be entirely successful, turning late 80s/early 90s shiny USA made weejuns into a much deeper, richer hue. Shame we can't post photos anymore...

#2 2022-08-11 03:16:02

Staxfan

Re: DIY ivy

Colin - over many years my Wife has cut down long sleeve shirts to half sleeve shirts for me, usually with a 99% success rate, these have usually been madras shirts, I bought last year online an 'Original Madras Co'  L/S , Size ' L', it's a tad neat, ( somewhere between a M & L ), and it's not particularly long, so when I wear it tucked in it's slightly uncomfortable, so I've decided to chop it down to a h/s which I can then wear untucked with shorts, (I don't wear L/s shirts untucked with shorts or trousers, looks like you're trying to hard for the older Ivyist), however I don't think I can persuade my Wife to do the needlework so it'll need to go to the alterations lady and cost me about £15 ! She has shortened a couple of shirts for me, it didn't work, I threw out a JS madras as it barely covered my naval.....

#3 2022-08-12 09:06:49

AlveySinger

My favourite DIY hack was turning an old madras shirt into a couple of pocket squares.