You are not logged in.

#1 2008-09-01 14:28:58

Tim

A Stranger in town.

Just thought I'd introduce myself briefly, I'll spare you the grusome details, suffice to say that having followed faintly "mod" foot-steps and following my nose, I stumbled across the Ivy look, which to me epitomised all that is cool.

I probably wont be saying much for now, I'm still VERY new to the look and sadly have limited resources as to where/how items can be acquired.

As I work in a messy & dirty enviroment, my current staples are very much of the casual kind - Khaki's with a white T and oxford-cloth button-downs in stripes and plains, most of which I own are BD Baggies bought from John Simmons. Socks (at the moment) I tend not to bother with and shoes are an extremely battered pair of Sebago docksiders. To smarten up, I tend to iron a shirt and don a cleanish pair of khaki's and swap the docksiders for my pride & joy - a US made pair of Scotch-grain Weejuns.

I'm hoping you'll all be kind enough to steer me towards sartorial enlightenment, - I very much enjoy reading the posts despite finding some of them somewhat intimidating!

Thanks,
Tim

#2 2008-09-01 15:13:45

Hard Bop Hank
Ivy Soul Brother

Re: A Stranger in town.

Nothing intimidating over here! This is not Ask Andy, and it's not Modculture... Everybody over here has his own personal style and everybody wants to learn. We don't have a Mr KnowItAll and we don't have a leader...

We like some discussion and we all have different likes/ dislikes... There might be certain classics we can all agree on, but I have my doubts...

General faves are probably OCBDs, natural shoulder sport jackets, flat fronted trousers, sack suits, narrow ties, penny loafers, brogues or plain caps and of course certain knitwear...

Oh, I guess, I was wrong, there was also some doubt about "Ballinger Brogues" recently, I recall...