macabee

Are Jazzy ties Ivy?

"One martini is all right. Two are too many, and three are not enough"
James Thurber

#2 2010-05-19 09:01:17

Taylor McIntyre
Son of Ivy...

Re: Are Jazzy ties Ivy?

Personally "I'm a hopelessly committed student to the New England/Mid-Atlantic Trad I learned long ago".  wink

But you don't have to be!

Yrs,

Slave to the Weejun.

#3 2010-05-19 10:42:21

Taylor McIntyre
Son of Ivy...

Just thought of Kerouac in his (maybe) Brooks Bros. suit with a kinda Jazzy tie (Huge Paisley) :

http://27.media.tumblr.com/AhHLjGs1Vqrx0qf1Oj2AfMTfo1_500.gif

If we start in on 'Is XYZ Ivy?' we could all end up like the Trads!  wink

#4 2010-05-19 11:13:25

Hard Bop Hank
Ivy Soul Brother

“No Room For Squares”
”All political art is bad – all good art is political.”
"Would there be any freedom of press or speech if one must reduce his vocabulary to vapid innocuous euphemisms?"

#5 2010-05-19 11:16:40

Hard Bop Hank
Ivy Soul Brother

No, seriously:

When the (Modern) Jazz scene adopted the Ivy League look, they changed the notion about what was considered a "jazzy look"...

Of course, not everyone would have changed his look completely, but in most cases it would have been a clear break.

“No Room For Squares”
"Would there be any freedom of press or speech if one must reduce his vocabulary to vapid innocuous euphemisms?"

#6 2010-05-19 11:18:03

Hard Bop Hank
Ivy Soul Brother

“No Room For Squares”

#7 2010-05-19 11:35:53

Hard Bop Hank
Ivy Soul Brother

Here's some information about the earlier "American style in London" (as sold by Cecil Gee and his imitators) before Ivy became hip, and about youth culture (Spivs/Teds) before the "Mod era":

http://www.manchesteruniversitypress.co.uk/uploads/docs/Horn%20chapter%205.pdf

http://forums.filmnoirbuff.com/viewtopic.php?id=6137

I think we've also mentioned something about that crossover in the thread about "Hampton Hawes' collar"...